Yorkshire A to Y


North Yorkshire county (unitary authority from 2023)  X 

These are the places within the county of North Yorkshire, which will become a unitary authority responsible for all main council functions from 2023 as the Government scraps its seven huge district authorities introduced in 1974.

The North Yorkshire authority covers more than 3,100 square miles and stretches around 92 miles from west to east.

The area continues to be considerably larger than the pre-1974 North Riding of Yorkshire as North Yorkshire incorporated large parts of the West Riding and some of the East Riding, although some northern fringes were lost to what are now Durham County, Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough and Redcar & Cleveland unitary authorities.

The Government has also proposed having an elected mayor to cover all these places in the forthcoming North Yorkshire unitary authority plus also those in the City of  York unitary authority.

We continue to maintain our district indexes to help make searches for places easier to manage (see links at foot of page).

Places in North Yorkshire are:
 Ainderby Steeple
 Aislaby Ryedale district
 Aislaby Scarborough district
 Appleton Roebuck
 Appleton Wiske
 Barkston Ash
 Barton-le-Street Ryedale district
 Bilton in Ainsty
 Bishop Monkton
 Bishop Thornton
 Bolton Abbey
 Bolton Percy
 Brompton Hambleton district
 Broughton (Great Broughton) Hambleton district
 Broughton Craven district
 Burton in Lonsdale
 Burton Leonard
 Burton Salmon
 Byland Abbey
 Carlton Selby district
 Carlton in Cleveland
 Carlton Miniott
 Chapel Haddlesey
 Chop Gate
 Church Fenton
 Cold Kirby
CRAVEN Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Danby Wiske
 Deighton Hambleton district
 East Ayton
 East Cowton
 East Harlsey
 East Marton
 East Rounton
 Egton Bridge
 Gilling East
 Great Ayton
 Great Barugh
 Great Edstone
 Great Heck
 Great Langton
 Great Ouseburn
 Great Smeaton
 Green Hammerton
 Greenhow Hill
 Halton Gill
HAMBLETON Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Hambleton Selby district
HARROGATE Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Harwood Dale
 Healaugh Selby district
 Hebden North Yorkshire
 Helwith Bridge
 High Bentham
 High Grantley
 Horton in Ribblesdale
 Hutton Rudby
 Ingleby Arncliffe and Ingleby Cross
 Ingleby Greenhow
 Kirby Grindalythe
 Kirby Hill Harrogate district
 Kirby Knowle
 Kirby Misperton
 Kirby Wiske
 Kirkby in Cleveland
 Kirkby Fleetham
 Kirkby Malham
 Kirkby Malzeard
 Kirkby Overblow
 Kirk Deighton
 Kirk Hammerton
 Kirk Smeaton
 Leeming Bar
 Linton North Yorkshire
 Little Fenton
 Little Ouseburn
 Lofthouse North Yorkshire
 Long Marston
 Long Preston
 Low Bentham
 Low Mill
 Marton Ryedale district
 Marton in the Forest
 Melmerby Harrogate district
 Middleton Ryedale district
 Monk Fryston
 NewbyCraven district
 NewbyScarborough district
 Newby Wiske
 Newton Kyme
 Newton upon Rawcliffe
 North Duffield
 North Grimston
 North Stainley
 Nun Monkton
 Old Malton
 Osgodby Scarborough district
 Osgodby Selby district
 Pateley Bridge
 Robin Hood's Bay
 Rosedale Abbey
 Runswick Bay
RYEDALE Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Sand Hutton
 Sawley Harrogate district
 Scalby Scarborough district
SCARBOROUGH Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Seamer Scarborough district
 Seamer Hambleton district
SELBY Shire district of North Yorkshire
 Sherburn in Elmet
 Sheriff Hutton
 Shipton by Beningbrough
 Skelton on Ure
 South Milford
 South Otterington
 South Stainley
 SowerbyNorth Yorkshire
 Stainforth North Yorkshire
 Sutton on the Forest
 Thornton in Lonsdale
 Thornton Watlass
 Thorpe Bassett
 Thorpe Willoughby
 Weeton Harrogate district
 West Ayton
 West Haddlesey
 West Lilling
 West Lutton
 West Marton
 West Rounton
 West Tanfield
 Wharram le Street
 Whitley Selby district

North Yorkshire


All of NORTH YORKSHIRE county (unitary authority from 2023)

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in North Yorkshire county (unitary authority from 2023)
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |