Yorkshire A to Y


Selby district  X 

Selby district is the southernmost of the seven large district authorities which make up the modern administrative county of North Yorkshire. It covers an area of around 231 square miles and has boundaries with West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, the East Riding of Yorkshire, City of York and the Harrogate district of North Yorkshire.

The town of Selby is the adminstrative centre but the district also includes many villages and the small town of Tadcaster.

The area is mostly agricultural but former coalfield sites and new business development in some of the larger villages is providing increasingly diversified industry in some locations.

The population of the Selby district is over 91,000.

Latest local authority changes proposed by the Government propose the scrapping of this district from 2023 and combining it with the other six North Yorkshire districts as a unitary North Yorkshire authority covering more than 3,100 square miles.

Places in the Selby district are:
 Appleton Roebuck
 Barkston Ash
 Bolton Percy
 Burton Salmon
 Carlton Selby district
 Chapel Haddlesey
 Church Fenton
 Great Heck
 Hambleton Selby district
 Healaugh Selby district
 Kirk Smeaton
 Little Fenton
 Long Marston
 Monk Fryston
 Newton Kyme
 North Duffield
 Osgodby Selby district

 Sherburn in Elmet
 South Milford
 Thorpe Willoughby
 West Haddlesey
 Whitley Selby district

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in Selby district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |