Yorkshire A to Y


Craven district  X 

The westernmost of the seven large district authorities which make up the modern administrative county of North Yorkshire covers 454 square miles.

The area includes the mountains and dales of a large area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. A part of the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is also in the district.

The administrative centre is in Skipton and the wide area includes a number of smaller towns and dozens of villages.

The population of the area is over 57,000.

Latest local authority changes proposed by the Government propose the scrapping of this district from 2023 and combining it with the other six North Yorkshire districts as a unitary North Yorkshire authority covering more than 3,100 square miles.

Places in the Craven district are:
 Bolton Abbey
 Burton in Lonsdale

 East Marton
 Halton Gill
 Hebden North Yorkshire
 Helwith Bridge
 High Bentham
 Horton in Ribblesdale
 Kirkby Malham
 Linton North Yorkshire
 Long Preston
 Low Bentham
 Stainforth North Yorkshire
 Thornton in Lonsdale
 West Marton

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in Craven district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |