Yorkshire A to Y


Richmondshire district  X 

Richmondshire is one of the seven large district authorities which make up the modern administrative county of North Yorkshire. It covers a huge area of around 509 square miles in the north-west of the county.

Over half the district is formed of the northern part of the Yorkshire Dales National Park which includes the communities of Wensleydale and Swaledale. A small portion of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is also within the district.

The administrative centre is the town of Richmond. The district also has a few small market towns and dozens of villages.

Despite the vast area over which it is spread, the population of Richmondshire is the smallest of any Yorkshire district authority at around 53,000.

Latest local authority changes proposed by the Government propose the scrapping of this district from 2023 and combining it with the other six North Yorkshire districts as a unitary North Yorkshire authority covering more than 3,100 square miles.

Places in the Richmondshire district are:
 Aldbrough St John
 Barton Richmondshire district
 Brough with St Giles
 Carlton Richmondshire district
 Constable Burton
 Dalton Richmondshire district
 Dalton-on-Tees Richmondshire district
 East Layton
 East Witton
 Gilling West
 Healaugh Richmondshire district
 Kirby Hill Richmondshire district
 Melmerby Richmondshire district
 Middleton Tyas
 Newton le Willows
 North Cowton
 Patrick Brompton

 West Burton
 West Scrafton

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in Richmondshire district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |