Yorkshire A to Y


Hambleton district  X 

One of the seven large district authorities which make up the modern administrative county of North Yorkshire, Hambleton covers 506 square miles.

The district is named after the Hambleton Hills in the North York Moors National Park, part of which is at the eastern edge of the district.

Much of the district is agricultural land in the Vale of York and Vale of Mowbray, but the wide area includes a number of towns and dozens of villages.

The administrative centre is Northallerton, which is also the county town of North Yorkshire.

The population of the area is over 91,000.

Latest local authority changes proposed by the Government propose the scrapping of this district from 2023 and combining it with the other six North Yorkshire districts as a unitary North Yorkshire authority covering more than 3,100 square miles.

Places in the Hambleton district are:
 Ainderby Steeple
 Brompton Hambleton district
 Broughton (Great Broughton)
 Carlton in Cleveland
 Carlton Miniott
 Chop Gate
 East Cowton
 Great Ayton
 Great Smeaton

 Hutton Rudby
 Ingleby Arncliffe and Ingleby Cross
 Ingleby Greenhow
 Kirby Wiske
 Kirkby in Cleveland
 Leeming Bar
 Linton-on-Ouse North Yorkshire
 Marton in the Forest
 Seamer Hambleton district
 SowerbyNorth Yorkshire
 West Tanfield

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in Hambleton district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |