Yorkshire A to Y


York district  X 

Yorkshire's historic capital has had self-governance as a city in one form or another since ancient times.

Since 1996 that has been as been as the City of York unitary authority covering a wider area of surrounding villages than previous local government of the city with an area of around 105 square miles.

The entire area has a population or around 211,000.

York was once a central hub surrounded by the three historic Ridings of Yorkshire, but the present unitary authority is bounded by the Selby, Harrogate, Hambleton and Ryedale districts of North Yorkshire and the East Riding unitary authority.

Although the City of York works in partnership as a non-constituent member of the West Yorkshire Combined Authority, the City of York is not joined to West Yorkshire as it once was to the West Riding. There are about four miles of North Yorkshire in-between.

North Yorkshire police and fire services serve the City of York, which is also included in the North Yorkshire Lieutenancy area.

Below are places in the York unitary authority area:
 Acaster Malbis
 Askham Bryan
 Askham Richard
 Deighton City of York district
 Nether Poppleton
 Rawcliffe City of York
 Skelton City of York
 Stockton on the Forest
 Upper Poppleton


We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in York district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |