Yorkshire A to Y


SCARBOROUGH district  X 

Scarborough Borough was the easternmost of seven now-abolished large district authorities which have been merged into a unitary authority of North Yorkshire.

The Scarborough district covered around 315 square miles of the area now run by North Yorkshire Council, the unitary authority the Government has created from the former County Council which covers a massive area of around 3,085 square miles and more than 600 towns and villages.

As well as the seaside resort of Scarborough which was the administrative centre, the former Scarborough district covered nearly half the sea coast of Yorkshire, including the northernmost of its heritage coasts.

On a section of the coast and inland is part of the North York Moors National Park.

The wide area of the district, created in 1974, also included the seaside towns of Whitby and Filey and dozens of villages.

The population of the area is more than 109,000.

There are 39 parish and town councils within the Scarborough district. The Scarborough town area is the only location in the borough which does not currently have this tier of government.

To view our gazetteer of places across all the new North Yorkshire Council unitary authority see  NORTH YORKSHIRE

Places in the Scarborough district were:

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in SCARBOROUGH district
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |