Historic county of Yorkshire

Dent is a village in the South Lakeland district of Cumbria.

The village is the heart of Dentdale, an area which, before 1974, was in the West Riding of Yorkshire. Today the area is still part of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

Dent is about 5 miles south-east of Sedburgh, around 14 miles by road west of Hawes and an 11-mile drive north of Ingleton.

The village, with its winding cobbled main street and whitewashed cottages, is full of historic character.

Dent traces its history back to the Norse settlers who set up isolated farms in Dentdale around 1,000 years ago and the valley is still characterised by its farms spread along the valley.

St Andrew's Church in the village is a Grade I listed church which originates in the 12th century. Although rebuilt in the 15th century with further restorations in the late 16th, 18th and 19th centuries, some features of the original building still survive.

The Dentdale Methodist Church in the village is also a listed building. It was originally built as a Society of Friends meeting house in 1701 but was bought from the Quakers in 1834 by Wesleyan Methodists who had been meeting in a barn. It has continued in use as a Methodist church since that time.

More about the history of the area can be found at the Dent Village Museum & Heritage Centre (see below).

 Village features

Dent was formerly in the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Dent is in the Yorkshire Dales National Park.
The village is on the River Dee.
Dent is on The Dales Way, a signposted 80-mile walking route with Ilkley in West Yorkshire and Bowness-on-Windermere at its end points.
Dent has pubs - The Sun Inn, The George amp Dragon.
Dent has a shop.
The village has a Post Office.
The village has cafes and tea-rooms.
The village has a library with limited opening times. It is run by volunteers at Dent Reading Room.
Dent has a museum - Dent Village Museum and Heritage Centre.
Places to stay in Dent include guest house, inn, holiday home, caravan, camping accommodation.
Dent has a village hall - Dent Memorial Hall
There are public toilets in the village.
Dent has a school.
Dent has an old parish church.
Places of worship: Anglican, Methodist.


Bus travel

The village has an infrequent bus service.

Dent station

Dent stationDent station on the Settle to Carlisle line is the highest mainline station in England at 1,150ft above sea level. It is also the most remote station from the village it serves. The station is a road distance of 4½ miles to the west of Dent village and a steep climb above Dentdale and the small village of Cowgill. Settle is 17 miles away, Skipton 26 miles and Leeds 47 miles.
Station managed by: NORTHERN.   Operator/s: NORTHERN.

NORTHERN - Departure and station info
Link to Northern - external website providing information on all services at this station.

Road travel

Dent is reached on minor roads

Places to visit

Dent Village Museum and Heritage Centre

Dent Village Museum & Heritage Centre

The small museum, in a building which was once a filling station for the village, explores the lives of people who have lived and worked in Dentdale over the centuries through a rich variety of exhibits. Marble quarrying, agriculture and the cottage industry of knitting are among the themes covered along with a more curious story of 'The Dent Vampire'. The museum is open daily.


Yorkshire Dales National Park

The part of South Lakeland district which is historically in Yorkshire remains within the Yorkshire Dales National Park. This area has some of the remotest parts of the park including the Rawthey Valley, Garsdale and Dentdale. England's highest cascade waterfall above ground, Cautley Spout, is near to the head of the Rawthey Valley. Find out more about the park on our Yorkshire Dales National Park page.

Emergency services

Cumbria Constabulary  Cumbria Constabulary website.

Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service  Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service website.

North West Ambulance Service NHS Trust  North West Ambulance Service NHS Trust website.

Local government

Civil parish council

Dent with Cowgill Parish Council
Provides some local services in the area.
Link to council website:  Dent with Cowgill Parish Council

District authority

South Lakeland District Council
The council is one of five large district authorities in the county of Cumbria. It covers a large area of the southern part of the Lake District National Park and in the west a portion of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, together with areas between the two parks and along the southern Cumbrian coast facing Morcambe Bay.

The area of interest to Yorkshire is that which was transferred from the West Riding to Cumbria in local government reorganisation in 1974, including the town of Sedburgh and village of Dent in the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The council is made up of 51 councillors representing 18 wards. Around one-third of council seats are elected each year except in the fourth year when there is a Cumbria County Council election and no district elections. An election of one-third of the council due to be held in 2020 has been postponed to 2021.

There are also 57 Parish or Town Councils and 13 Parish Meetings within the South Lakeland district.

Link to  South Lakeland District Council website.

The political composition of the council as at May 2020 is:

51 members

• On 1 April 2023, South Lakeland District Council, including its parts of the historic West Riding of Yorkshire, will be merged with two other large district councils, Barrow Borough and Eden District, to form a new unitary authority called Westmorland and Furness Council. The County of Cumbria will be scrapped under the Government's changes. Although parts of historic Yorkshire and also parts of historic Lancashire are included in the new unitary authority, some parts of the pre-1974 County of Westmorland are not.
Link to  Westmorland and Furness Council website.

County authority

Cumbria County Council
Includes South Lakeland and four other non-unitary districts of Cumbria.
 Cumbria County Council website.

Police and Crime Commissioner

Police and Crime Commissioner Cumbria
Oversees policing the county of Cumbria.
 Police and Crime Commissioner Cumbria website

Fire authority

Cumbria County Council

National government region

North West England

Ceremonial county



-1974: The area around Sedburgh and Dent was within the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Also in

 New    Places to visit    Gazetteer - a website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |