Yorkshire A to Y


Kirklees district  X 

Kirklees metropolitan district is one of five very large metropolitan authorities which make up West Yorkshire, it includes the centre of the county and extends to the south to the edge of the Peak District National Park.

Huddersfield is the administrative town of the metropolitan district, created in 1974, but it also covers an area of around 158 square miles which includes several other towns in the central area of West Yorkshire to the north and around 100 suburban districts, villages and small towns extending across the rural surroundings of Huddersfield.

Although concealed by a landscape of moors and valleys, agriculture and green spacing, the population of all these communities exceeds that of many cities. With a total population of around 442,000, Kirklees is the fourth most-populated district in Yorkshire after Leeds, Sheffield and Bradford. Across all England only three further metropolitan districts have a bigger population — Birmingham, Manchester and Liverpool.

Kirklees is the only metropolitan district of West Yorkshire to have boundaries with all the other four — Calderdale, Bradford, Leeds and Wakefield. It also has boundaries with the Barnsley metropolitan district of South Yorkshire, the High Peak district of Derbyshire and the Oldham metropolitan district of Greater Manchester, half of which is made up of areas which were in the West Riding of Yorkshire before 1974.

Places in the Kirklees metropolitan district are:

 Berry Brow
 Birds Edge
 Clayton West
 Denby Dale
 East Bierley
 Farnley Tyas
 Grange Moor
 Hade Edge

 Netherton Huddersfield, Kirklees district
 New Mill
 Scapegoat Hill
 Scholes Kirklees district (near Cleckheaton)
 Scholes Kirklees district (near Holmfirth)
 Upper Cumberworth

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in Kirklees district.
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |