Labour win in Selby and Ainsty July 21, 2023

SelbyLabour won the parliamentary by-election in the Selby and Ainsty constituency on July 20, overturning the previous Conservative majority of more than 20,000 votes.

Keir Alexander Mather, 25, won the seat for Labour gaining more than 4,000 votes over the second-placed Conservative candidate Claire Amanda Holmes. Both were well-ahead of the other 11 candidates in the election.

The by-election was caused by the resignation of Conservative MP Nigel Adams, who followed former Prime Minister Boris Johnson out of Parliament. He had previously announced his intention to retire at the next election.

The Selby and Ainsty constituency covers all of the recently-abolished Selby district of North Yorkshire plus a few neighbouring villages of the former Harrogate district.

The largest centres of population are Selby, Tadcaster and Sherburn-in-Elmet. There are many other villages in a constituency that is mostly a rural and agricultural area, although part of it was once the location of a busy coal mining industry and coal-fired power stations. Industry in the constituency includes manufacture of buses, glass and insulation boards and brewing.


Keir Alexander Mather Labour 16,456
Claire Amanda Holmes Conservative 12,295
Arnold Francis Ignatius Warneken Green Party 1,838
Michael Thomas Jordan     1,503
David Michael Kent Reform UK 1,332
Matthew James Walker Liberal Democrats 1,188
Nicholas Stuart Hiley Palmer Independent 342
John William Waterston Social Democratic Party 314
Graham Nicholls aka Sir Archibald Stanton The Official Monster Raving Loony Party 172
Russell Guy Phoenix Heritage Party 162
Andrew Philip Gray     99
Tyler Callum Wilson Independent 67
Luke John Wellock Climate Party 39

Also in

 New    Places to visit    Gazetteer - a website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |