ELECTION 2024 Archived: Results from the General Election on July 4, 2024


Labour have won the General Election

• Labour picked up many seats in traditionally Conservative areas in Yorkshire.

• Rishi Sunak held his seat as MP for Richmond and Northallerton.

• The Conservatives continue to hold 10 of the 60 seats we cover which are in or include parts of Yorkshire. That is 19 less than at the 2019 election. The seats held include some with the greatest expanse of area in North and East Yorkshire but also include Keighley & Ilkley in West Yorkshire.

• Liberal Democrats have a big increase in MP numbers with 72 nationally but were less successful in picking-up seats in Yorkshire than in other parts of the country. They did, however, win in the Harrogate and Knaresborough constituency.

• One shock for Labour was being pushed into second place by the Independent candidate in the new Dewsbury & Batley constituency.

• Conservatives failed to even come second to Labour in an unprecedented number of seats. Reform came second in 14 of the 60 Yorkshire seats, the Green Party were second in six, Independents in two and Liberal Democrats in one.

• Full election results for the region can be found in our round-up of Yorkshire constituencies (a few straddling the boundaries of historic Yorkshire) below.

• The national election results were: Labour 368, Labour and Cooperative 43, Conservative 121, Liberal Democrats 72, Scottish National Party 9, Sinn Fein 7, Independents 6, Reform UK 5, Democratic Unionist Party 5, Green Party 4, Plaid Cymru 4, Social Democratic & Labour Party 2, Alliance Party 1, Ulster Unionist Party 1, Traditional Unionist Voice 1, Speaker 1.

Role in Cabinet for Yorkshire MPs

Sir Keir Starmer, MP for Holborn and St Pancras, became the new Prime Minister after Labour's huge General Election victory and he has appointed several Yorkshire MPs as ministers:

• Rachel Reeves, MP for Leeds West and Pudsey, becomes Chancellor of the Exchequer.
• Yvette Cooper, MP for Pontefract, Castleford & Knottingley, becomes Home Secretary.
• Ed Miliband, MP for Doncaster North, is the new Energy Security and Net Zero Secretary.
• Louise Haigh, MP for Sheffield Heeley, is the new Transport Secretary.
• John Healey, MP for Rawmarsh and Conisbrough, is appointed Defence Secretary.
• Hilary Benn, MP for Leeds South, is the new Northern Ireland Secretary.
• Dan Jarvis, MP for Barnsley North, is appointed a Home Office minister.

ELECTION 2024 results  60 Yorkshire constituencies *

ELECTION 2024 4351011

Past General Election results   60 Yorkshire constituencies

ELECTION 2019 264291

ELECTION 2017 35519 1

ELECTION 2015 333213

Constituency results 2024

Barnsley North
Elected MP: Dan Jarvis Labour

Barnsley South
Elected MP: Stephanie Peacock Labour

Beverley and Holderness
Elected MP: Graham Stuart Conservative

Bishop Auckland
Elected MP: Sam Rushworth Labour

Bradford East
Elected MP: Imran Hussain Labour

Bradford South
Elected MP: Judith Cummins Labour

Bradford West
Elected MP: Naz Shah Labour

Bridlington and The Wolds
Elected MP: Charlie Dewhirst Conservative

Calder Valley
Elected MP: Josh Fenton-Glynn Labour

Colne Valley
Elected MP: Paul Davies Labour

Dewsbury and Batley
Elected MP: Iqbal Mohamed Independent

Doncaster Central
Elected MP: Sally Jameson Labour & Cooperative

Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme
Elected MP: Lee Pitcher Labour

Doncaster North
Elected MP: Ed Miliband Labour

Goole and Pocklington
Elected MP: David Davis Conservative

Elected MP: Kate Dearden Labour

Harrogate and Knaresborough
Elected MP: Tom Gordon Liberal Democrat

Elected MP: Harpreet Uppal Labour

Kingston upon Hull East
Elected MP: Karl Turner Labour

Kingston upon Hull North and Cottingham
Elected MP: Diana Johnson Labour

Kingston upon Hull West and Haltemprice
Elected MP: Emma Hardy Labour

Keighley and Ilkley
Elected MP: Robbie Moore Conservative

Leeds Central and Headingley
Elected MP: Alex Sorbel Labour & Cooperative

Leeds East
Elected MP: Richard Burgon Labour

Leeds North East
Elected MP: Fabian Hamilton Labour

Leeds North West
Elected MP: Katie White Labour

Leeds South
Elected MP: Hilary Benn Labour

Leeds South West and Morley
Elected MP: Mark Sewards Labour

Leeds West and Pudsey
Elected MP: Rachel Reeves Labour

Middlesbrough and Thornaby East
Elected MP: Andy McDonald Labour

Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland
Elected MP: Luke Myer Labour

Morecambe and Lunesdale
Elected MP: Lizzie Collinge Labour

Normanton and Hemsworth
Elected MP: Jon Trickett Labour

Oldham East and Saddleworth
Elected MP: Debbie Abrahams Labour

Ossett and Denby Dale
Elected MP: Jade Botterill Labour

Pendle and Clitheroe
Elected MP: Jonathan Hinder Labour

Penistone and Stocksbridge
Elected MP: Marie Tidball Labour

Pontefract, Castleford and Knottingley
Elected MP: Yvette Cooper Labour

Rawmarsh and Conisbrough
Elected MP: John Healey Labour

Elected MP: Anna Turley Labour & Cooperative

Ribble Valley
Elected MP: Maya Ellis Labour

Richmond and Northallerton
Elected MP: Rishi Sunak Conservative

Elected MP: Sarah Champion Labour

Rother Valley
Elected MP: Jake Richards Labour

Scarborough and Whitby
Elected MP: Alison Hume Labour

Elected MP: Keir Mather Labour

Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough
Elected MP: Gill Furniss Labour

Sheffield Central
Elected MP: Abtisam Mohamed Labour

Sheffield Hallam
Elected MP: Olivia Blake Labour

Sheffield Heeley
Elected MP: Louise Haigh Labour

Sheffield South East
Elected MP: Clive Betts Labour

Elected MP: Anna Dixon Labour

Skipton and Ripon
Elected MP: Julian Smith Conservative

Spen Valley
Elected MP: Kim Leadbeater Labour

Stockton West
Elected MP: Matt Vickers Conservative

Thirsk and Malton
Elected MP: Kevin Hollinrake Conservative

Wakefield and Rothwell
Elected MP: Simon Lightwood Labour & Cooperative

Wetherby and Easingwold
Elected MP: Alec Shelbrooke Conservative

York Central
Elected MP: Rachael Maskell Labour & Cooperative

York Outer
Elected MP: Luke Charters Labour

Contains Parliamentary information licensed under the  Open Parliament Licence v3.0

* Constituencies and boundaries changed since the 2019 General Election.
† Liberal Democrats also held the Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency which was previously, but is no longer, included in our 60 Yorkshire constituencies after boundary changes moved its Yorkshire parts into Morecambe and Lunesdale constituency.

More details of how the constituencies were changed for the 2024 General Election can be found on or ELECTION 2024 Constituencies page.

Also in Yorkshire.guide

 New    Places to visit    Gazetteer   

Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |