The seven cities of Yorkshire


Ripon was Yorkshire's second city York - a city on Roman foundations Yorkshire has seven cities.

The oldest is York, which has been a city since it was a Roman capital and, for a time, the seat of the Roman Emperor.

The next to be recognised as cities were Ripon and then Wakefield.

In 1836, Ripon became the cathedral city of a huge new diocese taking most western parts of Yorkshire from the Diocese of York. In 1888, as the population of industrial towns expanded, Wakefield became the cathedral city of a new Diocese of Wakefield which took over the southern part of the huge Diocese of Ripon. The Local Government Act that year also made the West Riding an administrative county from the following year, with Wakefield the location of its County Hall. Neither Ripon nor Wakefield had the largest populations of the West Riding and there continues to be larger towns in Yorkshire, particularly in the case of Ripon, which is among the smaller cities of the UK.

Four other expanded towns were recognised as cities in the final decade of the 19th century - Leeds and Sheffield in 1893 and Bradford and Kingston upon Hull in 1897.

Below are the seven cities of Yorkshire in alphabetical order.

Including towns and cities, where are the seven largest in Yorkshire? See Largest towns and cities.

Bradford West Yorkshire

Find out more about Bradford

Kingston upon Hull Hull

Find out more about Kingston upon Hull

Leeds West Yorkshire

Find out more about Leeds

Ripon North Yorkshire

Find out more about Ripon

Sheffield South Yorkshire

Find out more about Sheffield

Wakefield West Yorkshire

Find out more about Wakefield

York City of York

Find out more about York

Also in

 New     Places to visit     Gazetteer - a website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |