Yorkshire A to Y


East Riding unitary authority area  X 

East Riding was Yorkshire's largest area local authority until April 2023 when the Government created England’s largest unitary authoritiy from the seven districts of North Yorkshire — that covering 3.3 times the area of East Riding.

East Riding covers an area of around 930 square miles, including several towns and hundreds of villages in an area stretching between the Yorkshire Wolds, the Humber estuary and the Yorkshire coast. Within the unitary authority are 171 civil parishes.

The East Riding's county town is Beverley where its County Hall is located. The largest town in the East Riding is Bridlington.

East Riding is the local government area which most closely matches one of Yorkshire's historic Ridings, although there were a considerable number of boundary changes when those Ridings came to an end in the 1974 local government reorganisation.

The present East Riding is the creation of another round of local government reorganisation in 1996. The Government's 1974 reorganisation proved, in this area, to be an unsuccessful mix of Yorkshire and parts of Lincolnshire across the wide Humber estuary in a new county of Humberside. In 1996 things were changed again and three of the 1974 Humberside district authorities — one of them named East Yorkshire — and half of another district were merged into a new East Riding unitary authority. Police and Fire services continue to cover the Humberside area.

The East Riding of today excludes the relatively small City of Hull area, which has its own unitary authority. It includes areas of the former West Riding around Snaith and Goole. It has lost to North Yorkshire some of the historic East Riding's northernmost parts around Norton upon Derwent and Filey. Westernmost parts of the historic East Riding have been lost to North Yorkshire and the City of York with a shift of boundary from the River Ouse to the River Derwent.

East Riding covers a large part of the sea coast of Yorkshire as well as most of the northern shore of the Humber estuary. The coastline includes two of Yorkshire's three heritage coasts at Flamborough and Spurn. Seaside resorts along the coast include Bridlington, Hornsea and Withernsea.

Although mostly an agricultural area, its sheer number of towns and villages made it Yorkshire's 6th most populated district or unitary authority area in the 2021 Census with a population of around 342,200. Its population size ranked only after four of the five metropolitan districts of West Yorkshire (all except Calderdale), and Sheffield metropolitan district in South Yorkshire. Following the merger of North Yorkshire authorities it now also falls below North Yorkshire, ranking 7th across Yorkshire.

Places in the East Riding unitary authority area are:
 Aughton East Riding
 Barmby Moor
 Barmby on the Marsh
 Bilton East Riding
 Bishop Burton
 Bishop Wilton
 Burton Agnes
 Burton Fleming
 Burton Pidsea
 Cherry Burton
 Dunnington East Riding
 Easington East Riding
 East Cottingwith
 East Cowick
 Foston on the Wolds
Great Driffield see  Driffield
 Great Hatfield
 Great Kelk
 Holme on the Wolds
 Hutton Cranswick
 Kirby Underdale
 Kirk Ella
 Little Driffield
 Little Weighton
 Long Riston
 Market Weighton
 New Ellerby
 Newton upon Derwent
 North Cave
 North Dalton
 North Ferriby
 North Frodingham
 North Newbald
 Old Ellerby
 Rawcliffe East Riding
 Ruston Parva
 Scalby East Riding
 Seaton Ross
 South Cave
 South Dalton
 Spurn Head
 Stamford Bridge
 Sunk Island
 Sutton upon Derwent
 Thornton East Riding
 Tunstall East Riding
 Weeton East Riding
 West Cowick
 Wold Newton

We continue to add more villages to our A to Y gazetteer and the above may not yet list all places in East Riding unitary authority area
 Back   A to Y 
Yorkshire.guide - a dotguide.co.uk website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |